7 October 2006


Tiruvannamalai District was formed by bifurcation of the 188 year old North Arcot District on September 30, 1989. The total geographical area of the district is 6355.61 sq kms. Tiruvannamalai and Cheyyar are the two Revenue Divisions in the District. There are 6 Taluks namely Tiruvannamalai, Arni, Chengam, Cheyyar, Polur and Vandavasi. There are 18 Panchayat unions covering 875 Panchayat villages with 1067 Revenue villages. The District has 4 Municipalities namely Tiruvannamalai, Arni, Cheyyar and Vandavasi.

No comments: