4 November 2006

DMK Clean Sweep

Results of all recent local elections have now been tabulated and results show that out of the 18 Panchayat Unions in Tiruvannamalai District, the DMK has won chairmanship in 15 Unions, its ally PMK in two Unions and the Congress in the rest.

Notwithstanding DMK's encroachment of a few positions allotted for its allies, DPA completely swept the Chairman/President elections held at urban Local Bodies and Panchayat Unions in the district.

M.P.Giri of the DMK was elected as District Panchayat President. V.Anbalagan of the DMK has been elected vice-president.

Out of four Municipalities, the DMK won chairmanship in three and PMK in one.

Out of the 10 Town Panchayats in Tiruvannamalai District the DMK had won 6, the Congress and the PMK one each and Independents two (one pro-DMK the other pro-AIADMK).

No comments: